Northeast Ohio is home to world class IT organizations, both for-profit and not-for-profit, and these organizations are led by accomplished executives with strong, dedicated, talented teams.  To recognize these individuals and teams, OTech created the CIO of the Year and IT Team of the Year awards in 2005.

CIOs and their teams are nominated by peers, vendors and other parties and complete the CIO Questionnaire to be considered for the award. Nominees are judged by a committee of their peer IT executives on issues such as vision, leadership, accomplishments, commitment to the IT community and other factors.

Awards were presented at the annual OHTec CIO Symposium from 2005-2009, but in 2011 these awards were presented at the Best of Tech Awards dinner, thereby bringing together both high-performing companies and high-performing IT execuitves and their teams.

CIO / IT Team of the Year Award:  Winners and Finalists 


Terabyte Award Winner: Dr. Martin Harris, The Cleveland Clinic

Public Company: Amy Brady, KeyCorp

Large Private Company: Matthew Dickerson, SIRVA

Mid-Size Private Company: Rachel Johnson, The NRP Group

Small Private Company: Rob Sable, Alliance Solutions Group, LLC

Large Non-Profit organization: Jeff Mowry, Cuyahoga County

Small Non-Profit Organization: Toby Miletta, Eliza Jennings


Public Company: Esther Potash, Olympic Steel

Large Private Company:  George Mehok, Safeguard Properties

Mid-Size Private Company:  Mark Danczak, Cohen & Company

Small Private Company:  Don Shadrake, The Reserves Network

Large Non-Profit organization:  Teri Rini-Barber, Southwest General Health Center

Small Non-Profit Organization:  Jane Alexander, Cleveland Museum of Art

Special Recognition:  Miguel Zubizarreta, Hyland Software


Large Company: Dan Muller, The Timken Company 

Mid-Size Company: John O'Neill, Sr., Molded Fiber Glass 

Small Company:  Fred Franks, Fit Technologies

Non-Profit / Government: Mark Hogan, Cleveland Airport Systems