Month in Review: June 2019

From how to improve where your business appears in Google search results, to whether or not your emails are missing their mark, June was a hot month on the blog.


It’s finally summer in Cleveland and we’re heating things up on Mind Your Business. Check out some of our favorite articles from June.

Making Relationships Work

Before you enter into a new business relationship, it's imperative you really know your new partner. Here is the basic information you need to know, and the proof you need to see, in order to ensure your partnerships work for you.

Online Marketing: Lessons From a Google Leader

From recipes that call for apples to a place to go ziplining, you can find it all on Google. But, how easy is it to find your business? Follow these tips to help improve where you appear in search results.

Do Your Emails Suck?

Yeah, we said it—your emails just might suck. If you’re sending long attachments, using all caps, sounding too formal, or committing any of these 15 worst email practices, you’re probably missing the mark with your emails.

Will Changes to Canadian Trademark Laws Impact Your Business?

If you conduct business or are a trademark owner in Canada, it's imperative that you are familiar with changes on the horizon for Canadian trademark laws, specifically with registration and fees.

What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from June? Let us know on Twitter!


Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: October 2019

    Month in Review: October 2019

    From the tricks and treats of running a small business to member spotlights in honor of National Women’s Small Business Month, October was a busy month for Mind Your Business. Here’s a recap.



    Choosing which blog posts to include in this month’s review was not an easy task. But here’s a rundown of some of our favorites from October.

    Tricks AND Treats of Running a Small Business

    Learning from your fellow small business owners isn't just a bunch of hocus pocus. In honor of the spookiest season of them all, our COSE members shared some special Halloween tricks AND treats when it comes to running a small business

    National Women’s Small Business Month

    Did you know that October was National Women’s Small Business Month? COSE is fortunate to have many inspiring women entrepreneurs within our membership. We had the opportunity to chat with Monika Moss-Gransberry, founder of MKM Management Consulting, and Cheryl Perez, BIG-HR president and CEO, to learn more about their careers and passions. Check out their thoughts on valuable ways to recognize female-run businesses, and some proud moments they have experienced along their professional journeys.

    10 Steps to Take After Landing a New Gig

    Last month we brought you strategies for handling those times when your business is not selected to fill a prospect's needs. So here's the natural follow-up—what to do when you are the best choice. Hint: It's more than just saying thank you and starting the job—follow these 10 steps when you've landed a new project or client.

    Dealing with Small Business Owner Fatigue

    Running a business is a big honor, but it’s also a big undertaking. Follow these six suggestions to stay motivated and keep everything running smoothly even during times of stress and fatigue.

    Webinar Recap: How to Implement Your Medical Marijuana Policy Without a Full Time HR Team

    In light of the medical marijuana laws in the state of Ohio, it's imperative that your business is up-to-date when it comes to its drug policies and procedures. Learn the five steps you should take to make sure your business is protected and running smoothly, even in the absence of an HR team.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from October? Let us know on Twitter!


    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: September 2019

    Month in Review: September 2019

    Our Mind Your Business writers provided a lot of valuable business advice this month. Read on to see what you might have missed from our experts in September.

    Our Mind Your Business experts are proud to bring you regular guidance on various aspects of running a business—here’s a roundup of what was explored in September. And, be sure to scroll to the bottom for your chance to learn from and talk with other small business owners in COSE’s peer-to-peer program.

    What if Your Business Isn’t the Right Choice?

    There may be times when you can’t be as fast or as good or as inexpensive as the prospective client requests. You can't win 'em all, of course. In the September edition in our series answering sales-related questions, we presented five options to consider when your business isn't the most obvious choice for a prospective project.

    And, after you finish reading what to do when you are not the best choice, take a look at the follow-up article on next steps to take when you are the best choice.

    Why Employee Motivation Matters More in a Small Business

    Understanding what employees want and ensuring they are happy and productive goes a long way to retaining them, and is invaluable to your business. Here are some ways you can make your workers good, long-term employees.

    Why Should I Care About the Department of Labor’s Employee Benefits Security Administration?

    You might have wondered this very thing. It's a good question--and if your small business offers a retirement plan, healthcare or other benefits, read on for the answer

    Join COSE's Peer-to-Peer Program

    Are you looking for a peer group or “forum” for sharing highs and lows as a small business owner--with the ability to discuss business and personal issues outside of the office? Would you like to bounce your ideas, strategies, and approach off another entrepreneur?

    Please consider joining COSE’s Peer-to-Peer pilot program, which will bring COSE members together to form small groups to do just that. Peer-to-Peer groups will be led and facilitated by COSE Board Members Tim Opsitnick, Alex Gertsburg, and Taylor Evans. All content and topics discussed will be created by the group itself. All we ask is that you show up, share, and commit. Discussion will be confidential. 

    Interested? Please email Jason Guyer and we’ll reach out with information as we get closer to launch.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from September? Let us know on Twitter!


    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: August 2019

    Month in Review: August 2019

    From the benefits of working with contractors to the benefits of employee wellness programs, MYB explored a variety of topics that will benefit your small business.


    We were hard at work on the blog last month. Check out some of our favorite Mind Your Business articles from August.

    Hiring Contract Remote Workers Can Benefit a Small Business if Done Right 
     
    Not having the responsibility to pay for heath care and saving on office space are just two of the reasons many businesses are using contract remote workers. Read these other benefits to hiring contractors and how you can have a successful experience for all parties

    The Benefits and Costs of an Employee Wellness Program


    From reduced health care costs to increased employee morale, there are many benefits of a workplace wellness program. Discover the details behind employee wellness programs: the costs associated, the benefits and examples of the limitless possibilities for these programs.

    Sales Q & A: Goal vs. Objective
     
    All small business owners are sales people in disguise. In this new Mind Your Business series, we are providing expert answers to some of your most pressing sales questions. Take a look at what differentiates a sales goal from a sales objective, and let us know what questions we can answer for you.

    RELATED: 3 Things to Know About Success in Sales

    Shutting Down Workplace Gossip
     
    Workplace gossip may seem harmless, but it can negatively impact employee productivity and morale. Before watercooler buzz becomes damaging to your business, learn how to address it in a positive and assertive manner.

    Could Your Professional Relationships Ruin Your Small Business Status?

     
    Receiving a small business status can be valuable when it comes to federal contracts and other benefits. But, this status may be jeopardized if your business “affiliates” with another business or even a person, and that affiliation results in revenue and employees that exceed the small business size limits the government has set. Learn more about protecting your small business status

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from August? Let us know on Twitter!

    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Be Heard: National Regulatory Fairness Hearing

    Be Heard: National Regulatory Fairness Hearing

    The Small Business Administration’s National Ombudsman Office is a resource for entrepreneurs, trade associations, nonprofits and small government entities who are facing unfair enforcement actions, excessive penalties, fines and other regulatory issues with federal agencies. The Regulatory Fairness Board is strictly non-partisan and it aims to:

    -Resolve regulatory disputes with federal agencies
    -Reduce unfair penalties and fines
    -Seek remedies when regulations are inconsistently applied

    The Regulatory Fairness Board is seeking your input via an upcoming public hearing where small businesses can amplify their concerns.  Organizations or small business owners wishing to be allotted time to testify must submit written testimony in advance to ombudsman@sba.gov no later than Monday, August 5, 2019.

    A Greater Cleveland Partnership volunteer leader, Keith Ashmus, serves as a representative on the Regulatory Fairness Board for Region V, which covers Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin and Minnesota.

    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: National Women's Small Business Month Spotlight: Monika Moss-Gransberry

    National Women's Small Business Month Spotlight: Monika Moss-Gransberry

    October is National Women’s Small Business Month. COSE is fortunate to have so many inspiring women entrepreneurs within our membership. Today we are highlighting Monika Moss-Gransberry, founder of MKM Management Consulting.

    MYB: What are some ways you would suggest people celebrate National Women’s Small Business Month and recognize women who run their own businesses?

    Monika: The best thing you can do to honor a woman business owner is to patronize her business and make referrals. It is so important to support women-owned businesses. Women still make about 79 cents to the dollar compared to white men—and it is about 56 cents for women of color.

    Women’s Business Ownership Act of 1988 sought to address barriers for women and women of color to business ownership. For instance, until 1988 women could not get a business loan at a bank without a male family member cosigning on their behalf, even if that male was the woman’s son. Last year, the National Association of Women Business Owners celebrated its contribution to the formation of the Women’s Business Ownership Act of 1988 as part of the 30-year anniversary. I started my business in 1987 and bootstrapped all the start-up costs. As an unmarried woman at the time, I would not have been able to get a business loan without a male cosigner. At the time, I didn’t even consider applying as I assumed I couldn’t afford it. That was the limited thinking that I had, along with so many other women. Today, the playing field may not be level, but young women are bolder and more confident in going for their dreams. I am proud to be supporting several amazing young women entrepreneurs through my coaching practice.

    MYB: What are some accomplishments you are proud of from your journey as a small business owner?

    Monika: I have been in business for over 30 years. I have some client projects that I am really proud of.  There was a period of time when we were doing a lot of community strategic planning that was very participatory. We’d have 100+ residents, grandmothers, young people, business owners, community organizations and more sitting in the same room at the same table, talking about the issues in the community, learning each other’s perspectives, and envisioning the future of their community. Those projects were very rewarding.

    Most recently, it has been the community we have been building around our work with Life Mapping and my new book. The Technology of Doing Creating & Being: Engineering the Transformation of Your Life Using Self-Mastery as the Spiritual Blueprint launched in October as a #1 Best Seller on Amazon and makes me proud of the contribution I am making to the world.

    MKM Management Consulting is about transformation of organizations and the individuals who run them. Helping them to manifest their vision. They help organizations make their vision real through strategic planning, meeting facilitation and leadership coaching. They work with amazing entrepreneurs, governmental agencies, and nonprofit organizations map out their vision and strategy. Through its Life Mapping Community, MKM Management Consulting is creating a supportive environment for like-minded people to progress on their self-mastery journey and transform their lives with the company’s books, courses, live events, and private online groups. www.monikakmoss.com; www.mossgransberry.com.


    Share
  • Email